

## HIGH-LEVEL GROUP OF PERSONALITIES

## ON AFRICA-EUROPE RELATIONS

The High-Level Group of Personalities on Africa-Europe Relations was co-founded in 2017 by **Mo Ibrahim**, Founder and Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, **Etienne Davignon**, President of Friends of Europe, former Belgian Minister of State and former Vice-President of the European Commission and **Bono** Co-Founder of the ONE Campaign.

The Group now represents the steering group of the Africa-Europe Foundation, providing the political and strategic orientations for the work of the Foundation; it is composed of representatives of the partner organisations, High-Level individuals as well as co-chairs of the Africa-Europe Strategy Groups affiliated to the Foundation:

**Mo Ibrahim** Co-Chair of the Africa-Europe Foundation, Founder and Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation **Etienne Davignon** Co-Chair of the Africa-Europe Foundation, President of Friends of Europe's Board of Trustees, former Belgian Minister of State, former Vice-President of the European Commission

**Ellen Johnson Sirleaf** Honorary President of the Africa-Europe Foundation, former President of the Republic of Liberia, Nobel Laureate

**Mary Robinson** Honorary President of the Africa-Europe Foundation, Chair of the Elders, former President of Ireland

**Louise Mushikiwabo** Co-Chair of the Strategy Groups of the Africa-Europe Foundation, Secretary General of the Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Rwanda

**Chrysoula Zacharopoulou** Co-Chair of the Strategy Groups of the Africa-Europe Foundation, French Minister of State to the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, for Development, Francophonie, and International Partnerships.

Ayodeji Adewunmi Co-Founder & Director, Emprego Holdings

**Clare Akamanzi** Chief Executive Officer of the Rwanda Development Board, Cabinet member (Government of Rwanda)

Yvonne Aki-Sawyer Mayor of Freetown

Zeinab Badawi President of SOAS London University, International Broadcaster (BBC)

Fatih Birol Executive Director of the International Energy Agency

**Joaquim Alberto Chissano** Former President of the Republic of Mozambique, former President of the African Union

Aliko Dangote President and Founder of Dangote Group

Hailemariam Desalegn Boshe Former Prime Minister of Ethiopia, former president of the African Union

António Feijó President of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

**Arancha González** Dean of the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA), former Minister of Foreign Affairs, EU and Cooperation of Spain, former Under-Secretary General of the UN

**Gilbert F. Houngbo** Director-General of the International Labour Organization (ILO), former Prime Minister Togo

Mahamadou Issoufou Former President of Niger

**Abdoulie Janneh** Former UN Under-Secretary- General, former Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa

**Donald Kaberuka** Chairman and Managing Partner of South Bridge, Board Chair of the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, former President of the African Development Bank

Horst Köhler Former President of Germany, former Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund











Ramtane Lamamra Minister of Foreign Affairs of Algeria, former African Union Commission for Peace and Security

**Pascal Lamy** Honorary President of Notre Europe-Jacques Delors Institute, former Director-General of the World Trade Organisation

**Thomas Leysen** President of Friends of Europe's Governing Board, Chairman of Mediahuis, Umicore and Royal DSM, Honorary Chairman of the King Baudouin Foundation

**Mark Malloch-Brown** President of the Open Society Foundations, former head of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Carlos Moedas Mayor of Lisbon, former EU Commissioner for Research and Innovation

Festus Mogae Former President of Botswana

**Federica Mogherini** Rector of the College of Europe, former EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security

**Amina Mohammed** Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations and Chair of the United Nations Sustainable Development Group, former Nigerian Minister of Environment

**Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala** Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO), former Chair of the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI), former Minister of Finance of Nigeria

Romano Prodi Former Prime Minister of Italy, former President of the European Commission

**Thorsten Schäfer-Gümbel** Chair of the Management Board of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Minouche Shafik Director of the London School of Economics, former Deputy Governor of the Bank of England Rajiv J. Shah President of the Rockefeller Foundation, former Administrator of USAID

**Gayle Smith** CEO of the ONE Campaign, former advisor on international issues for three American presidents **Vera Songwe** Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) **Mark Suzman** CEO of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

## In addition, the following members of the Strategy Groups are ex-officio members of the HLG:

**Agnes Binagwaho** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Health, Vice Chancellor and Co-Founder of the University of Global health Equity

**Gunilla Carlsson** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Health, Vice-Chair of the Strategy Committee at The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

**Marion Guillou** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Agri-Food, President of the Board of Directors of Agreenium

**Bernard Gustin** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Transport and Connectivity, Executive Chairman of Lineas

Paula Ingabire Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Digital, Minister of ICT & Innovation of Rwanda

**Elsie Kanza** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Transport and Connectivity, Ambassador of Tanzania to the USA and Mexico

**Ibrahim Mayaki** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Agri-Food, Former CEO of the New Partnership for African's Development (AUDA-NEPAD)

**Kandeh Yumkella** Co-Chair of the AEF Strategy Group on Energy, Member of Parliament in Sierra Leone, former Chief Executive Officer of SEforALL and Chair of UNEnergy











## **Executive Committee of the Africa-Europe Foundation**

**Geert Cami** Co-Secretary General of Africa-Europe Foundation and Co-Founder & Secretary General of Friends of Europe

**Nathalie Delapalme** Co-Secretary General of Africa-Europe Foundation and Executive Director of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Saliem Fakir Executive Director of the African Climate Foundation

David McNair Executive Director for Global Policy at the ONE Campaign







